Recipe: Crispy Sweet Caramel Popcorn

IMG_1285

This is my Grandma’s recipe that she has made ever since I was small. When my cousin gave me a recipe binder for Christmas one year, Grandma carefully wrote out the recipe for Caramel Popcorn to inaugurate my new binder — and it’s still in there. The recipe is divine, and it makes the most delicious caramel popcorn you can possibly imagine. Because of the long baking time at a low temperature, it is crispy and crunchy and perfectly sweet. When I make it, it usually disappears within hours because I just can’t stop eating it!

Crispy Sweet Caramel Popcorn

Place in a large bowl:

1 gallon plain popped corn (the recipe calls for a gallon, but I usually just pop 1/2 cup of kernels in a big pot and use that)

Combine in a saucepan and cook for 4 minutes:

1 cup brown sugar
1/2 cup butter
1/4 cup maple syrup (or corn syrup)

Stir in:

1/4 tsp. baking soda
a pinch of kosher salt

Pour syrup over popcorn. Mix quickly and thoroughly until each kernel is coated. Bake on a cookie sheet in a 200-degree F oven for 1 hour. Stir halfway through. Break apart and eat!

you might also like:
Spicy Caramel Popcorn
Irresistible Turtle Bars
Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies

5 thoughts on “Recipe: Crispy Sweet Caramel Popcorn

  1. Yum. Shaun makes the BEST caramel corn. He’s found the secret is to NOT STIR the brown sugar/butter/corn syrup as it bubbles for the allotted time, otherwise it becomes very granulated. Its hard to resist stirring a bubbling pot! 🙂

  2. Feisty, I just made this for our family film. It was absolutely scrumptious. I must admit I made it even unhealthier by adding a bit of extra sea salt as soon as it came out of the oven, as I’m crazy about salt and caramel together.

Leave a Reply

