Help! We’re drowning in snow.

The snow this winter is relentless. Even long-time residents of the area tell me this is the worst they’ve ever seen it. I grew up in Muskoka, which is also known for its intense and bitterly cold winters, but I’ve never experienced anything like this. It’s the wind whipping off Lake Huron for days on end, churning up the already-fallen snow and blowing it across town like a impenetrable white sheet, that makes it really hard to function. As soon as I see “snow squall warnings” on the Weather Network website, I know we’re in for yet another whiteout. The roads shut down, people are trapped until they reopen, and you’d better hope the fridge is well stocked!

For those of you readers living in places other than southwestern Ontario right now, I want to share some of the photos that have been circulating around my Facebook news feed in the last three days. All of these pictures are from Grey-Bruce county and the Huron coast. Now you’ve got to believe me when I say this winter is nuts!

This snowplow flipped yesterday near Kincardine, ON
This snowplow flipped yesterday near Kincardine, ON
This is a giant snowbank in Paisley, ON
This is a giant snowbank at the service centre in Paisley, ON. I doubt anyone’s filling up today.
On the road near Wingham, ON
A plow on the road near Wingham, ON
I wouldn't be asking for Timmie's, but you get the point.
I wouldn’t be asking for Timmie’s, but you get the point.
The snowbank in front of the public school just down the road from us
The snowbank in front of the public school just down the road from us
And for anyone who's been to Sauble in summer, here's what it looked like last night, as the sun finally showed a few rays.
And for anyone who’s been to Ontario’s most famous beach in summer, here’s what it looked like last night, as the sun finally showed a few rays.

Today has dawned sunny and clear, but I hear there’s a lot more snow yet to come…

you might also like:
Cold enough?
Blizzard!
A cold, snowy, northern Christmas

5 thoughts on “Help! We’re drowning in snow.

  1. I moved here in 2001, and its not the worst we’ve had it. I can’t remember whiat year it was, I think 2004, I coiuld not see across the road for the snow drifts. Its been COLDER than I’ve ever seen it – but not as much snow yet. And old timer friend once told me his father used to throw him out of a second story window in Berkely so he could shovel out the front door. I think we are just suffering from too many mild winters in a row to remember what winter is really like

    1. I agree completely that we’ve become too accustomed to mild winters, and that’s why everyone freaks out at the slightest sign of “real” winter. I love this intensely cold and snowy weather. Sure, it’s inconvenient at times, having to dress and undress my kids a million times a day, and shovel out the driveway by hand, but hey – it makes summer all the more amazing.

  2. First winter in Nova Scotia, last year in Brampton, Ont. my husband used is Snowblower 3 times and there was only a little snow this year sometimes he uses it three times a week

Leave a Reply

