Blizzard!

I’ve spent the past 36 hours witnessing the biggest blizzard of my life. This is my fourth winter living near Lake Huron in southwestern Ontario, but I’ve never seen anything like this before. It started out fine — just a really heavy snowfall yesterday morning. I got A. ready for his first day back at school after two weeks of Christmas holidays, only to discover that the school was closed. Since I was already outside with the boys, I started shovelling out the driveway, only to discover that the snow was falling nearly as quickly as I was removing it. At least the boys were eager to help, so I put them to work cleaning off the car.

If you think this is a lot of snow, you ain't seen nothing yet!
If you think this is a lot of snow, you ain’t seen nothing yet!
The hardest part about shovelling snow by hand is figuring out where to throw it once the banks get higher than 6 feet.
The hardest part about shovelling snow by hand is figuring out where to throw it once the banks get higher than 6 feet.

By early afternoon, the wind picked up — and it hasn’t stopped since yesterday. I can feel huge gusts come whipping up off the lake, beating against the house relentlessly. The doors rattle and the whole house creaks. The screens are plastered with a layer of snow that makes the inside of the house feel like a burrow. I’m actually very glad to live in an old house that’s 110 years old. It has proven itself by withstanding a century of tempestuous Great Lakes weather, including the epic storm of 1913. Surely it will protect through this one.

A brief lull in the whiteout...
A brief lull in the whiteout…

Jason was dismissed early from work, thankfully before all the highways were officially shut down by the roads department. Then I heard this morning that all snow plows were removed from the roads last night due to safety concerns. Everyone is just hunkering down  till the storm runs its course because it’s useless to do anything else. This is what I saw when Jason opened the front door this morning:

After I cleared the doorway,  it filled up again to the same depth within hours.
After I cleared the doorway, it filled up again to the same depth within hours.
Backyard view -- and that's a whole lot of shovelling for this girl who insists on not buying a snowblower!
Backyard view — and that’s a whole lot of shovelling for this girl who insists on not buying a snowblower!

On the home front, things are going pretty well. A. went outside to help his dad shovel for a little while today, but returned after ten minutes. I think the -35 degree Celsius wind chill was a bit much for his tender cheeks. The boys are content building blanket forts, playing with their trains and marble run, reading stories, and hunting monsters upstairs in the dark with their swords. I’m making great headway with Lord of the Rings, which is good because I’m racing my brother to the end. (He’s currently in the lead.)

I suspect tomorrow will be yet another snow day because the wind continues to blow and I still can’t see across the street. Even if it does stop soon, it will take a few days for everyone to dig themselves out. In the meantime, I’ll continue to revel in this fabulous weather; as strange as it sounds, I really love a good snowstorm.

you might also like:
Where is winter?
Bring on the winter storms!
Sumptuous, splendid, spectacular snow

12 thoughts on “Blizzard!

  1. A great article explaining to the rest of the world the situation! I am speechless of the severity of the snowfall, low temperatures, and wind. And my dear husband is not around!

  2. I’ve been watching the news and wondered what the situation was for you. Thank you for the update. I have never seen such snow and had such a laugh at the shot “lull in the whiteout”…that’s the lull! I’m curious to know what you cook if you’re bunkered down? We have what we call a ‘store cupboard’ week every so often, to save money and to use up odds and ends. It’s often when we have some of our best meals.

  3. Wow, that is quite something! Stay warm. 🙂 Even though it can be inconvenient, I have been snowed in in the past and there is something very peaceful about it….a kind of enforced rest because you simply can’t go anywhere other than on foot.

  4. i have survived the Hamilton, etc storm of 1979 which was our worst storm. Maybe we can equate of what happened to us this year. because then we didn’t have power outage, like this year. I still believe maybe we should move down south?

    1. Believe it or not, I actually like the snow… except when I’m shovelling! Living down south would certainly be easier, except that when they do get extreme weather events, it’s far scarier than just a snow storm. I’d take this past week over a hurricane any day!!

Leave a Reply

