A cold, snowy, northern Christmas

Christmas up at the lake in Muskoka was spectacular. The 24th of December dawned frigidly cold, with the temperature hovering around -24 degrees Celsius (which is -11 degrees Fahrenheit). We bravely went outside anyways to help my brother flood the rink he’d cleared on the frozen lake. He chopped a hole in the ice, which was extremely thick after weeks of unusually cold weather. We dipped our buckets into the freezing water and spread them over the surface of the ice so it would smooth and freeze over for a good skating surface. Unfortunately, the resulting rink was awfully bumpy and we couldn’t even use it the next day.

Hauling water is cold business. I'm very glad I only have to do it when I want to!
Hauling water is cold business. I’m very glad I only have to do it when I want to!

The views of the lake were gorgeous nonetheless and the little boys had a blast running around on the frozen surface. Seasons never cease to amaze me, thinking that this lake will be warm and delightful for swimming in only a few months’ time.

The views of the lake were gorgeous nonetheless.

Making a snow angel never loses its appeal.
Making a snow angel never loses its appeal.
He likes to think he's independent already...
He likes to think he’s independent already…

On the 25th, all the extended family arrived for a big celebration. We crowded into the house for a couple days of live music (piano, cello, violin, trumpet), fabulous meals, massage swaps, and snuggles in front of the fireplace.

The coziest spot
The coziest spot

IMG_1205

My dad likes making grand wreaths.
My dad likes making grand wreaths.

Best of all, the celebrations aren’t over yet. I’m hosting the family here for New Year’s in a few days.

8 thoughts on “A cold, snowy, northern Christmas

    1. Yes, it is! I have another shot I’ll email you. Unfortunately the lake wasn’t as nice as it looks. Shortly after Jay took this picture, I fell several inches into nasty slush and had to put my snowshoes back on. Our bay was much firmer, though.

  1. Gosh, it sure is beautiful there! It looks like the perfect place to have Christmas. Here in Seattle, it’s wet and gray and cold. Happy New Year to you and yours!

Leave a Reply

