Please just go back to sleep.

Being the little angels that they (sometimes) are… Thank goodness they're both book lovers!
Being the little angels that they (sometimes) are… Thank goodness they’re both book lovers!

I don’t mind the time change that we just had. “Spring forward, fall back” is how I remember which way it’s supposed to go. We gain an hour in the spring, and lose an hour in the fall. Now the mornings are a little bit brighter, or at least there’s some light burning through the darkness by 7 a.m. By contrast, the early evenings have turned into nighttime by 6 p.m. and it will get much earlier as winter comes. But I don’t mind because I like being warm and cozy at home, cooking dinner, and sitting down to enjoy it with my family. I become terribly lazy in the cold weather, wanting nothing more than to put on my pajamas and curl up under a quilt with a book for several hours each evening.

The only problem is how to explain a time change to kids. Yesterday, they slept in till 6:45, which was 7:45 old time. I was impressed and hopeful that the transition would be smooth. This morning, however, it’s a different story. I was just sitting down with my cup of tea to start writing when I heard chattering voices and banging upstairs. When I went up to check, the boys’ bedroom light was on and A. informed me he was getting dressed. It was 5:50 a.m.

“No way. It’s still nighttime. You’re going back to sleep.”

And cue the protests that quickly escalated to screaming as I led him back to bed, turned out the light, and shut the door.

“You don’t have to sleep, but you have to stay in bed until 7 a.m. That’s when I’m done working.”

So now I’ve listened to them alternate between wailing about the injustices of having to stay in bed and singing silly songs to each other. It’s very hard to concentrate when there’s noise in the house but, on the other hand, it makes me efficient because I have such limited time. I managed to write the fastest post ever for TreeHugger. Of course I’ll have to edit it later.

It’s Tuesday, which means both boys will be away this morning and I’ll have 2.5 hours to myself. I’m already dreaming about how to use that time in a way that maximizes my enjoyment of being alone. I might actually go into a store to look for some new pants, or perhaps I’ll hang out at the library. The possibilities are endless. Then I’ll head to CrossFit at 4:30 and come home to braised beef shanks served over polenta for dinner. It’s going to be a wonderful day, even if the start was a bit rough.

you might also like:
When a newborn and toddler share a room
The Gift of a Sibling
Early Risers

One thought on “Please just go back to sleep.

  1. Very well written and interesting to see how your day is different to everyone elses. I myself am almost 23. I don’t have kids yet but my life is hectic in other ways. I barely get enough time to blog between school and work. It’s all about balance 🙂

Leave a Reply

