Recipe for Homemade Beef Jerky

My beef jerky experiment turned out marvellously and it’s proving difficult to keep from sneaking pieces. I highly urge you to try making some, if you’re at all inclined toward jerky. It still works out to be fairly expensive, but at least you know it’s not full of nitrites and artificial flavours. It’s what beef jerky is meant to taste like. I adapted a recipe that I found on Mark’s Daily Apple. The original can be found here.

Homemade Beef Jerky

You can see my jerky on my last post about PaleoKits. I just thought I'd change it up with someone else's jerky pic this time! (Photo: primaltan.wordpress.com)
You can see my jerky on my last post about PaleoKits. I just thought I’d change it up with someone else’s jerky pic this time! (Photo: primaltan.wordpress.com)

3 pounds of meat — I got two flank steaks, but brisket or London broil work well, too

Freeze long enough for it to firm up, which helps with cutting. Using a very sharp knife, cut 1/4-inch slices across the grain, which makes it more tender.

Mix the marinade:

6 tbsp Tamari or soy sauce
3 tbsp Worcestershire sauce
1 tbsp pureed chipotles in adobo sauce
1 head minced garlic cloves
1 tbsp hot chili powder
1-2 tsp. each of salt and freshly ground black pepper

Add the meat strips and mix well with your hands. Let marinate overnight in the fridge.

Spread tinfoil across the bottom of the oven or on the lowest rack. On the highest rack, spread out the pieces of meat without touching. You might need two racks, though the meat dries best on the top. Heat the oven to 140-160 degrees F (I used the lower temperature) and bake for a total of 6 hours, turning all the pieces over halfway through.

Let cool at room temperature and store in a sealed container or Ziploc bag. It’s best to keep the jerky in the fridge or freezer, just to be safe. It won’t last long anyways…

You might also like:
We can’t go to Europe without Paleo Kits!
My Traumatic Childhood Overdose on Alfalfa Sprouts & Cream Cheese
The Goodness of Minestrone

One thought on “Recipe for Homemade Beef Jerky

Leave a Reply

