TreeHugger: Why Strollers Are Making Kids Passive, Uninquisitive and Fat

I’m loving my new job as a writer for TreeHugger. I thought today’s post about strollers and parenting would be of interest to many of my family-oriented readers, so that’s why I’m posting the link here. Enjoy!

midnightcomm via Creative Commons
midnightcomm via Creative Commons

Strollers are a hot topic these days, and for many different reasons. Some people want to ban strollers, or at least limit them, on public transit because they’re an inconvenience and take up a lot of space. Other parents scorn strollers because they’re not conducive to bonding with a child. (Some of you may remember that unforgettable scene from the 2009 film Away We Go, when Maggie Gyllenhaal banishes a stroller from her house, shrieking, “I love my babies! Why would I want to push them away from me?”) Strollers are catching everyone’s attention because they’re bigger and fancier than ever before. Double-wide, triple-seater stroller beasts block the supermarket aisle and fill the line at Starbucks, and it seems that the children inside them are bigger, too.

See full article HERE.

Leave a Reply

