The Only Green Bean Recipe I’ll Ever Need

This recipe comes from my aunt Jane, who is a gourmet cook. The first time I tasted these green beans was on a camping trip to northern Ontario. She made them on a Coleman stove and tossed them with hot pasta for supper. It was the most delicious thing I’d ever eaten and, fifteen years later, it’s still my favourite summer recipe. I only make it when all the ingredients are fresh because it’s absolutely divine that way and nothing else can compare. Tonight, after doing the CSA pickup, I realized I had organic local garlic, green beans, tomatoes, and a head of basil. It was time to indulge — and devour.

summer in a bowl
summer in a bowl

Green Beans with Tomatoes, Garlic, and Basil

1/4 cup extra-virgin olive oil
4-5 cloves garlic, thinly sliced
2 large tomatoes, diced
1 lb green beans, trimmed and cut in half
Handful of fresh basil leaves, sliced or torn
Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper

Heat the olive oil and sauté the garlic for a minute until it’s just starting to turn golden. Add tomatoes and accumulated juices. Cover and let simmer 5-8 minutes until saucy. Stir occasionally. Add green beans, mix in, and cover. Cook until beans reach desired consistency. (I like mine quite crunchy.) Remove from heat, stir in basil, and season with salt and pepper. Serve immediately.

You might also like these summer recipes:
Grilled Eggplant Burgers
Grilled Vegetable Salad with Feta
Tortellini with Asparagus, Peas and Mint

One thought on “The Only Green Bean Recipe I’ll Ever Need

Leave a Reply

