Another Year Gone By

I turned 26 yesterday. Yes, I feel old. I can hear the collective groan from some of you who are thinking that’s not the case, and it really isn’t in the big picture, but I’d be lying if I said I didn’t feel a little freaked out by how fast time is passing. It seems like yesterday I was turning 16, finally getting my driver’s license, preparing to leave home for a year. Suddenly it’s 10 years later, which means that in the same amount of time I’ll be turning 36 — and I easily remember my parents being that age! The assumption that I’ll be young forever is starting to be replaced by a more realistically-balanced picture of life.

I actually got philosophical last night while enjoying a quiet night in with my hubby and realized that I’m probably a good third of the way into my life. Yes, I’ve accomplished lots of things that I’m proud of, but part of me is thinking, “Holy s&$#! I don’t have forever to sit around waiting for things to happen.” After all, they say that the average human life is only 28,000 days to do whatever it is we want to do on this planet. Thinking about life in terms of days is downright creepy.

Anyways, on a happier note… Jason took the day off work yesterday and a friend offered to babysit both boys for the morning, so we had a rare and special opportunity to explore the area alone. We headed to Owen Sound for a jaunt around the downtown and a visit to a great coffee shop where I sat and enjoyed an entire latte without chasing a child around the room. Then we went to Williamsford, where there’s an old mill turned into a gigantic used bookstore — pretty much my idea of heaven. We enjoyed some food in front of a warm fireplace before heading home to pick up the boys. Oh, and for any fellow nerds out there, I got Settlers of Catan, as well as the Cities and Knights expansion. Anyone want to come over to play?!

Outside the Williamsford bookstore
Outside the Williamsford bookstore
It's a beaver construction zone!
It’s a beaver construction zone!
IMG_0132
The rooms of books just go on and on!
I think this pic is hilarious because it's supposed to be a birthday photo but someone completely missed the cake. Oh well. Photography is not my family's forte.
I think this pic is hilarious because it’s supposed to be a birthday photo but someone completely missed the cake. Oh well. Photography is not my family’s forte.

Related Posts on FRH:
Reflections on a Quarter Century

11 thoughts on “Another Year Gone By

  1. I have to visit this book store one day …
    I laughed and laughed with your comment for the last photo!

    1. Yes, you should check it out. There’s also a Pie Company across the street that’s very delicious. I bought 2 great books with your gift, so thank you very much.

  2. I had similar thoughts yesterday, although mine weren’t because of my own birthday (you and my little girl share the same birthday!). She turned 1 yesterday and I cannot believe that she has been with us for an entire year already, it just went by so unbelievably fast… Happy belated birthday!

    1. I know. I think time flies extra fast when babies are small. It’s been almost 4 years since A. arrived and that stuns me. Before we know it, our kids will be grown up and gone!

  3. Happy birthday! It looks like you had a great day. 🙂
    It is freaky, the way time goes by so quickly. I turn 20 (half-way to 40!) next month and I’m thinking how did that happen?! It seems like only yesterday that I was so excited about turning 13 and becoming a teenager.

  4. Happy birthday. I like what you say about your picture of life being more realistically balanced – I think that is true the older you get. I actually like getting older. I don’t want my life to end obviously, but the alternative to aging is being dead! 😉

    1. My mom always says that life just keeps getting better the older she gets, and I can believe it because each chapter of my own life is an improvement on the last one. So I can understand what you mean when you say you like getting older!

Leave a Reply

