Why I’m Officially Hooked on CrossFit

That's me in the middle doing push presses (photo: EAG CrossFit)
That’s me in the middle doing push presses (photo: EAG CrossFit)

I’ve been doing CrossFit for a year now and I think it’s safe to say I’m hooked. What started out as a challenge from my husband, who was sick of hearing me complain about needing to tighten up my post-partum body and told me that 90 days of CrossFit would do wonders, has now become part of my routine. Twice a week, as soon as my husband gets home from work, I head to the gym for a 4:30 class and he stays with the kids, getting dinner ready. It’s a perfect arrangement because I’m usually chomping at the bit to get out of the house by late afternoon, so there’s no agonizing effort to haul myself out later in the evening when I’d rather be in my PJs by eight o’clock. Here’s why I love it:

1. Bottom line: it works! I’m in the best shape of my life and it feels awesome. The WODs (workout of the day) are exhausting and sometimes require an intense mental game to complete because they seem so impossible initially. But then I get going, plow through it somehow, and then it’s over; I’m left gasping for breath, completely exhausted and sweaty.   Interestingly, I’ve gained muscle weight over the past few months, but it’s the kind of weight gain that goes in all the good places while thinning out the not-so-good 🙂

2. I had to make it my own. I did go to CrossFit dutifully with my husband for a number of months, but I was always looking for excuses not to go. Last fall was a turning point, because I realized that I had to do something active and needed to stop fighting it. That’s when I decided to start attending CrossFit alone, sans mari, and being accountable to myself, instead of relying on his presence/input to motivate me to go.

3. Healthy competition. The WODs are mini contests in themselves. I race against the clock, trying to finish the workout before a certain time or trying to get the shortest time in the class. By keeping track of all the WODs I’ve done in a log book, I’m able to look back and see how long it took me to complete certain exercises or how much weight I lifted before. It becomes a constant game, rather than drudgery.

Doing knees-to-bar, which I never used to be able to manage! I'm the blur in the middle. (EAG CrossFit)
Doing knees-to-bar, which I never used to be able to manage! I’m the blur on the right. (EAG CrossFit)

4. Tangible milestones. A few weeks ago I started doing regular pushups from my feet, which I’ve never been able to do before. It was so exciting to witness this visible progress, and it’s like that every week — I’m able to do something better than I was the week before, whether it’s squats or pull-ups (mine still need a lot of work, but I’m getting there!) or weight-lifting.

5. It feels so good. My husband has been seriously into fitness since he was fifteen and I’m starting to be able to understand his addiction. There’s something thrilling about sensing strength and physical power just simmering beneath the surface of one’s skin, as if I could explode into action whenever required. 

Now that CrossFit has become part of my life, I’ve met lots of interesting new people and gotten to know more about the community that embraces this style of fitness. Here’s a quick promo video that can give you an idea of what it’s all about.

11 thoughts on “Why I’m Officially Hooked on CrossFit

  1. Good to hear you’re loving it! Sigh, every time you wrote, ” I couldn’t do that before” I thought, “damnit I can’t really do that anymore!” I actually had a whole dream about struggling to do pull ups! In July – it’s on 😉

  2. At my age (67), I haven’t tried to do cross fit. But I do Water fit and Spinning classes ( water fit at 1 pm and aqua spinning at 1:45). I feel amazing. As a senior, everything I do is a benefit to my body, the other two days, I go for water fit exercise. Good for you that you do cross fit. Remember if you don;t use it you lose it..

  3. I so badly want to try CrossFit! It’s been on my to do lost for well over a year now! And it is true, if you don’t use it you lose it! During the summer months I was doing HIIT training 5 days a week. I had real abs (that everyone could see, not just me!) and was doing things I never imagined I’d do – like push ups from my feet (25 in a row is my record!). Alas, winter came and classes got busy and kids were hectic and I could come up with excuses all day long but bottom line is I’ve slacked off and now have no more abs. One day I’ll find them again – maybe it’ll be through CrossFit! Good for you for being committed and good for your husband for helping you get there!

Leave a Reply

