Recipe: Chickpea, Feta and Carrot Fritters

I discovered this recipe for Chickpea, Feta and Carrot Fritters in a new Donna Hay cookbook I found at the library. (Thank goodness for the cookbook section of the library because I wouldn’t be able to keep up with my cookbook-reading habit otherwise!) I love Middle Eastern food and had been craving felafel, so this was a good alternative. Served with some hot fresh naan, salad, and minted yogurt, it was a delicious vegetarian dinner.

IMG_0036Chickpea, Feta, and Carrot Fritters

2 cans chickpeas, drained and rinsed
4 small carrots, peeled and grated
1 cup chopped cilantro leaves
300g firm feta, chopped
4 eggs
1/2 cup rice flour (I used hard wheat flour)
2 tsp baking powder
sea salt and cracked black pepper
vegetable oil, for frying

Place the chickpeas in a bowl and roughly mash with a fork. Add the carrot, cilantro, and feta, and mix to combine. Add the eggs, flour, baking powder, salt and pepper and mix well.

Heat 1 cm oil in a large frying pan over medium heat. Add large spoonfuls of the mixture ot the pan and cook, in batches, for 2-3 minutes each side or until golden. Drain on paper towel. Serve warm.

From Simple Dinners by Donna Hay

7 thoughts on “Recipe: Chickpea, Feta and Carrot Fritters

  1. Mmh this must be delicious! The few times I buy feta, it either ends up in Greek salad or in a simple sandwich, I should get a piece just for this purpose!

  2. This is a fantastic recipe! Have made it quite a few times. Last time I subbed gluten free self raising flour for the rice flour and it did stick together a bit better. I also used 5 eggs instead of 4. due to my 2 year old ‘assistant chef’ cracking an extra egg in when I wasn’t looking, which may have helped a bit too… I find it falls apart a little bit without these substitutes but as long as you bunch it all up together in a hot pan and let the base cook in oil for a bit before you flip, it is all good and stays together. Thanks so much.

Leave a Reply

