Halloween Compromises

So, folks, I’m afraid I have to take back what I said. Homemade Halloween costumes aren’t always the best, after all. A’s witch hat made of black Bristol board simply wouldn’t stand up to the pouring rain that lasted all of Halloween day, so I caved and bought him a witch hat at the dollar store.

One takes the prize for creativity, the other for sturdiness. Unfortunately, the latter is what mattered more in the end.

 

Yes, I feel a bit guilty, especially after my long rant about the importance of the creative costume process, but I’m also relieved that I didn’t have to worry about it blowing away or disintegrating, which would likely cause tremendous upset to my over-excited three-year-old. We also picked up a mini straw broom at the hardware store, thanks to a helpful pirate who knew where the last one was hidden in the storage room upstairs. Together with the black bed sheet — the last remnant of our original costume plan — we had a successful little witch who garnered plenty of oohs and aahs from our neighbours.

When we were still dry…
Thank goodness for that bed sheet. The poor pumpkin, though, was not impressed by the cold and rain.

Now that the trick-or-treating fun is over, we’re dealing with the less fun aftermath of candy negotiations. We’re a family that eats no candy, mostly because I don’t like it and my husband is very strict about his sugar intake. (My passion is baked goods and ice cream.) So my concession is letting A. have two treats a day. Well, so much for that plan! Before breakfast even started, he’d already finished a box of Smarties and had a Dubble Bubble in his mouth by the time I got downstairs. Then he refused to eat his yogurt and granola. Not cool.

I’ve never dealt with this before. Last year he was only two and when his candy bag mysteriously disappeared the next day, he never even noticed. This time round, though, he’s highly possessive of it and has pretty much catalogued everything in his mind because he’s gone through it so many times. I know I’m in for a few rough days because he needs to enjoy his stash, feel a sense of ownership over it, and I’ve got to indulge to some extent while still keeping things under control. One thing for sure, I’ll be combing through that bag and tossing what I consider to be the nastier junk — anything marshmallow, gummy, or overly artificially coloured will be meeting the trash can for certain. Call me hardcore, but that stuff just turns my stomach…

Sadly, we received only one trick-or-treater and that was because we were returning home as she walked by and we ran inside to get her a treat. We live in a neighbourhood of older homes and people, so perhaps that’s why. Since I grew up in the forest with no neighbours, I’ve always wanted to experience a Halloween with little costumed people knocking at the door. Perhaps I need to put in more effort decorating and making the house famously spooky in order to draw them in! (In the meantime, there’s a stash of Mill Creek chocolate ghosts on sticks for any of you locals who want to come by for a post-Halloween treat….)

4 thoughts on “Halloween Compromises

  1. I wrote about the joys of semi-homemade costumes today. Homemade is a noble goal that sometimes is less fun and functional than it sounds in the beginning. Check with your local dentists – some of the ones in our area pay by the pound for surrendered candy. Or, you could institute a similar scheme. A penny a piece? At least that would reduce the number of days you have to negotiate.,

Leave a Reply

