Gratitude

“In radical gratitude, the vicious dissatisfaction with life is broken. We begin to recognize what we have, rather than what we don’t.” (Radical Gratitude, Mary Jo Leddy)

A beautiful post by Obscure CanLit Mama got me thinking about gratitude. It’s one of those emotions that’s too often forgotten, or relegated to the back of one’s list of default reactions, or feels awkward and rusty from disuse. I know I’m guilty of turning to other emotions before considering gratitude. Usually happiness, satisfaction, or contentment will take its place and I never really stop to think about how thankful I am. Because this world could use a heck of a lot more gratitude, I’m going to take this opportunity to list some of the things that I’m truly thankful for right now, in this very moment, on this cool August evening.

I’m grateful that my children have finally settled in bed and are no longer practicing bedtime-stalling techniques.

I’m grateful for the spectacular bouquet of bright red gladiolas that are blooming like majestic floral sceptres in the corner of the dining room.

I’m grateful for the hot mug of vanilla rooibos tea that I’m sipping as I write.

I’m grateful for the chilled wine, French cheeses, and animated conversation that I shared last night around the campfire with my aunt and uncle; it makes me truly grateful for the permanence of family.

I’m grateful for a long morning hike that made my legs and feet ache while causing my soul to sing with happiness for love of the outdoors.

I’m grateful for health, energy, and sleep-filled nights.

I’m grateful for the seriously chocolatey brownie waiting on a plate for me to savour tonight.

I’m grateful that my husband is a musician, and that his music inspires our child to dance; a music-filled home can’t help but be a happy one.

I’m grateful for the heavy, soaking rain that fell in sheets last night and this afternoon, and for the sun that warmed me while I read on the grass this evening.

I’m grateful for a thick, fascinating novel to transport me back to the court of King Henry VIII and Anne Boleyn, and for the cozy quilt handmade by my grandma, that are waiting for me once I finish my writing…

On that note, I’d also like to say how grateful I am for readers like yourself! Thank you for inspiring me to continue writing.

One thought on “Gratitude

Leave a Reply

