Recipe: Green Beans, Potatoes and Spinach in Coconut Curry

I think this is the greatest vegetarian main dish I’ve ever made. Even my meat-lover of a husband kept commenting on how delicious it was. It’s super easy, pretty fast, and so good you’ll be eating it for breakfast the next day – like I did!

Ingredients:

1/3 cup cooking oil

2-1/2 cups pureed tomatoes (5 medium or canned is fine)

1-1/2 tsp salt

1 tsp turmeric

1 tbsp ground black mustard seeds

1 tbsp crushed cayenne pepper (optional)

1 cup water

1 lb potatoes, unpeeled and cut in 1/2-inch cubes

1/2 lb green beans, trimmed and cut in 1-inch pieces

1-1/2 cups coconut milk, stirred

1/2 lb fresh spinach with stems (1 bunch), washed and chopped

Place oil and tomatoes in a medium pot on medium-high heat and cook for 1 minute. Add salt, turmeric, mustard seeds, and cayenne, stir and sauté for 3 to 4 minutes or until oil glistens in the bubbles of the boiling tomatoes. Stir in water and potatoes and bring to a boil. Reduce the heat to low, cover and cook for 10 minutes. Remove the lid and stir in the green beans. Cover and cook and additional 5 to 8 minutes, or until potatoes are cooked through.

Stir in coconut milk and increase the heat to medium. Bring to a boil, then stir in spinach, cover and reduce the heat to low. Cook for 1 minute, or until spinach wilts into the curry. Serve immediately with rice or any type of bread.

From “Vij’s At Home: The Warmth and Ease of Indian Cooking”

If you liked this, check out my favourite Coconut Pepper Chicken recipe.

8 thoughts on “Recipe: Green Beans, Potatoes and Spinach in Coconut Curry

  1. Yes, I liked everything I tried in it (I got it from the library) except the beet greens, which were, um, gross. And I normally quite like beet greens.

    1. Haven’t tried that one. I also got it from the library and have checked it out a few times! I think I’m the only person who uses it 🙂
      Would you mind if I used the photo from your post – with credit, of course? I forgot to take a picture when I made it.

  2. Thanks for the recipe! I made it for supper last night — I was looking for something to do with all the green beans we’ve got right now. Delicious.

Leave a Reply

