bread & latte

It’s one of those days.  Crying kids at 5:45 a.m. and they never went back to sleep.  A long fitful night spent trying to decide which is worse: a rattling fan or the oppressive heat.   A loaf of bread stuck in my face while still half asleep.  The usual battle with the baby to make him nurse.  An accident in the toddler’s pants.  Pee on the bathroom floor.  Another scorcher ahead of us.

On days like these, I have to force myself to take pleasure in the small things, to look beyond the disorder and messiness and noise and rush of home life, and focus on what’s really great.  After getting the toddler his breakfast and cajoling a few spoonfuls of rice cereal into the baby’s slobbery mouth, I take some extra time to make myself the perfect latte –  decaf, of course, which is sadly ironic.  When I need the caffeine most of all, I can’t have it because the baby absolutely will not sleep.  (Trust me, I’ve done very careful experiments, because that was not an easy thing to give up.)

I cut myself a piece of the fresh artisan bread I made yesterday, slather on some homemade strawberry jam, and sit down to savour the combination.  With a deliciously chewy crust and moist crumb, the bread is fabulous.  As for the latte, well, it hits the spot, minus that much-needed extra kick, but that’s okay.  I can imagine it’s there.

The kids are crying, yelling, fighting, laughing, playing in the background.  I could jump up a dozen times to fix their little problems or start clearing up the dishes or wipe up spilled water, but no, I remain seated at the table, flipping through a book, feeling the tension flow out of my body, eating, sipping, nourishing my soul.

I know I possess the ability to turn this day around and make it something great, and that’s what I’m going to do.  I just have to start somewhere – with fresh bread and hot coffee.

Making my morning a bit easier
12 thoughts on “bread & latte

  1. What a great day to start the day Katherine! Reading your article this morning is exactly what I needed (on top of my espresso) – to know that other mothers are going through the same thing – and equally important, enjoying the little things that life has to offer.

    1. Thanks, Valeria. I’m glad it helped. It’s easy to forget that other mothers are experiencing exactly the same thing – and not all of us are juggling a home business like yours, which makes it even tougher!

  2. I imagine caffeine in my coffee & tea all the time! Sometimes a little too well and have had sleepless nights from too much imaginary caffeine!

    I love your final paragraph and might just save this page to read in the future. I’m often too quick to give up on a day when it starts off wrong.

    1. That’s funny. Yes, imaginary caffeine is pretty much all my nursing son can handle right now, sadly for me. Glad to hear you enjoyed the post. Never give up on a day – you never know what direction it may take.

  3. Amen, sister! Good for you for having the wisdom to prioritize your needs first. Caffiene free mothering?!?! My hat is off to you! You are clearly more woman than me. Where do you keep your cape?

    1. Haha, far from it, I’m afraid! I’ve learned the hard way that caffeinated mothering results in even less sleep and more exhaustion than if I just suck it up and go without. But I swear I’m counting down the months till that baby is weaned and I can go back to worshiping my real lattes every morning…

  4. It’s always the little things that make the most difference in the end.
    The bread, jam and latte combo sounds utterly delightful. Hope you get some R&R time soon.
    Cheers

  5. I have days like that. Lots of days like that. I will just turn to the kid(s) who are demanding my attention and say ‘well, mommy is drinking her coffee right now, so you can wait’. It’s for the good of everyone to make a happy bubble around yourself. Recharge your ammo.

Leave a Reply

