Recipe: Healthy Fudgy No-Bake Power Bars

Since adding a second child to the mix five months ago, I’ve developed a greater than ever appreciation for fast and healthy recipes.  It’s no longer possible to spend leisurely hours in the kitchen, despite all the help I get.  Now my focus is on cooking fast, in order to eat fast, in order to have my hands free to deal with a toddler and an infant.  My dessert cravings have suffered most as a result of this (which is probably a boon to the postpartum waistline).

So I was quite delighted when I first stumbled across this great recipe.  The title caught my eye because of its apparent contradiction: “healthy” and “fudgy” don’t usually appear in the same name, unless it’s just a marketing scam!  The ingredient list, though long, proved that these actually are both healthy and fudgy, and very quick to make – less than 10 minutes.  My first batch was made in the evening and gone by the next afternoon; I guess the whole family approved!

(Sorry, no photo.  They basically look like compressed brownies – which is a very good thing, believe me!)

Ingredients:

½ cup honey

½ cup peanut butter

½ cup cocoa powder

½ cup skim milk powder

¼ cup wheat germ

¼ cup rolled oats

¼ cup bran

¾ cup sunflower seeds

¼ unsweetened shredded coconut

½ cup chopped unsweetened dates

1/3 cup chopped nuts (almonds, walnuts, etc.)

¼ cup sesame seeds

In a pan over low heat, stir together honey and peanut butter until smooth.  Remove from heat, add cocoa powder and skim milk powder and blend well.  Stir in remaining ingredients.  Press into an oiled 9×9 pan.  Chill; cut into squares.  These store well in freezer.

From “Remixed: The Urban Mennonite Cookbook” produced by Toronto United Mennonite Church

14 thoughts on “Recipe: Healthy Fudgy No-Bake Power Bars

    1. Yeah, my husband is rather addicted to buying power bars, but I can’t get used to the slightly fake taste… I guess it’s the protein powder or something, but I’m not a fan. I prefer to pack and eat real food, and that’s why I love these bars so much – energy, power, and yumminess 🙂

  1. Mmmmmm… I love these! Does this mean that there may be some in the near future waiting on the counter?!?!? 😉

  2. These are awesome!!!. I froze them while i made and ate my lunch, and they r so good. I did use regular coconut flakes and i used medjool dates…didnt know dates came unsweetened? Im ok with it though, its still a very healthy homemade treat. Wow!! Ill be talking about these on my blog soon

  3. I wanted to comment again. I love it, but unless i did the measurements wrong, after being in the freezer for awhile..i tried to cut them into bars. It seemed as though a lot of the seeds and nuts became separated, a super lot. I just threw it all into a big ziplock and banged the heck out of it. Now i have super yummy uncooked granola.

    1. Hmm, perhaps it separated like that because it was frozen and became too brittle to cut properly. I never froze mine, just stuck them in the fridge after making, so that didn’t happen. Maybe if you let it thaw out completely, you could press it into the pan again! Or else freeze after cutting. Oh well, at least it still tastes delicious.

    1. It’s totally possible. When I make them, they end up being pretty hard, especially when fresh out of the fridge. If you firm them up before cutting and package in plastic wrap, you should be fine.

      1. thanks it worked, I was able to send one big bar. I just made a note to put in freezer or refrigerator for a little while before eating.
        I also brought them camping and a few friends loved them!! There kind of dangerous though. lol. You can’t stop eating them.

Leave a Reply

