Recipe: Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies

Treats don’t get much better than chocolate chip cookies fresh from the oven.  As a kid, I was so spoiled by my mom’s cookies that I wouldn’t even touch a store-bought one if it was offered to me!  I never liked the crunchiness of cookies from a bag; my preference has always been soft and chewy.

Ahh, butter + sugar + chocolate!

This is a relatively new recipe that I just tried a couple of weeks ago.  Since then, I’ve made about three batches, tossing the extras into the freezer for a quick snack whenever the craving hits.  Even my husband, who usually doesn’t eat dessert, said he likes having these on hand all the time!

I think the secret is underbaking, which I’m always scared to do.  I take them out, look at them, and always think, “Oh, they need longer.”  But then they end up too crunchy!  With this, I’m strict about taking them out at the sixteen-minute mark.  They also take a full 1/4-cup of dough each, which at first seemed huge.  I’m used to making little tablespoon-sized piles, but that also makes them chewy.  Don’t flatten; just let them spread on their own.  Being so substantial also means I eat fewer to feel satisfied, which is a plus!  Let me know what you think of them!

Chocolatiest Chocolate Chip Cookies

Ingredients: 1 cup butter or margarine; 3/4 cup granulated sugar; 1-1/4 cups brown sugar; 2 eggs; 2 tsp vanilla extract; 3 cups all-purpose flour; 1 tsp kosher salt (original recipe calls for 1-1/2 tsp, but I found that too salty); 1 tsp baking powder; 1 tsp baking soda; 12 oz (375 g) semisweet, bittersweet, or milk chocolate (or a combination), chopped

Unfortunately, they'll be gone in a flash!

1. In a food processor or with an electric mixer, cream butter with sugars until smooth and creamy.  Beat in eggs one at a time.  Beat in vanilla.

2. In a large bowl, mix together flour, salt, baking powder, and baking soda.

3. Stir butter mixture into dry ingredients and knead together with a wooden spoon or your hands.  Stir in chocolate.

4. Using a 1/4-cup measuring cup or ice cream scoop for each cookie, place batter on parchment-lined baking sheets about 2 inches apart.  Bake in a preheated 350 F oven for 12 to 16 minutes, or until tops are browned and cookies are slightly puffed (they will fall and become wrinkled when they cool).  Cool on wire racks.

Makes about 18 to 20 large cookies or 36 to 40 smaller ones.

[Recipe is from “Friday Night Dinners” by Bonnie Stern]

11 thoughts on “Recipe: Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. Made them tonight! They turned out really big, soft and tasty. I added mint chocolate chips because I love mint. I was scared to take them out at 16 minutes, but took your advise and trusted you and the recipe. Turned out great!

  2. This sounds fantastic and I also tend to prefer such cookies with a little softness to them which you almost never get, even in bakeries that I’ve seen.
    Thanks loads, will be trying this out for sure!

    1. Good! I love hearing that people are actually trying the recipes I post. That’s what they’re there for, after all!

  3. Tina made these yesterday…. used semi-sweet and dark chocolate chips…. mmmmm… heavenly!

    It was probably just my imagination, but my skinny jeans felt a little snug this morning! Lol!!

    Delicious! You are so right… under-cooking a bit is the key. 🙂

  4. I can’t wait to try these! I love making choc chip cookies and my husband just told me he prefers chewy over crunchy. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

