Homemade Baby Wipes

Now the idea of homemade diaper wipes might seem a bit hard-core, but if you’ve got little kids, you should totally give these a try!  A friend who has had four kids gave me this recipe at a baby shower for my first.  (I don’t know where she got it.)  I didn’t actually bother making them till my second arrived, and now these are the household standard.

Not only is it way cheaper to buy the ingredients instead of refills every couple of weeks, I’m sure there are also fewer chemicals than the Pampers or Huggies varieties that smell like a perfume shop!  They don’t rip (be sure to use Bounty paper towels – other kinds don’t work, I’ve discovered), and they feel great on baby’s skin.

Best Ever Baby Wipes

1. Cut a roll of Bounty paper towels in half, or take apart individual sheets and fold or cut to fit your container (or merely jam them in, like I do!).

Dry paper towels packed into container

2. Stand half roll upright in container (a 2-L. ice cream container works well), or stack your folded individual sheets in your container.

3. In 2-cup measure, boil 1-1/2 cups water in microwave.  (Original recipe calls for 2 cups, but I found that to be too wet.)

4. Add 1-1/2 tbsp baby wash and 1-1/2 tbsp baby oil to boiled water.

5. Pour mixture over paper towels in container and pull out cardboard centre.

6. Pull wipes from centre of roll, use, and toss in the green bin when you’re done.

Ta-daa! Best ever baby wipes 🙂
9 thoughts on “Homemade Baby Wipes

  1. This sounds like a great idea! I currently use cloth diapers and LOVE them! As compared to disposables they have no smell what so ever. I don’t like buying wipes, and they usually smell like they are full of unwanted chemicals. I was wondering what I else I could use for wipes untill I saw this, I will have to give this a try!

  2. p.s. Christine mentioned your blog to me. I come on to read once in a while. Your posts are very entertaining to read! Keep up the great writing :D!

    1. Thanks, Kara! I’m very happy to hear the blog is getting positive references. I hope you continue to enjoy it!

  3. I’ll have to link my brother to this. He just brought a huge horde of wipes for his second baby and this could’ve saved him so much money.

    1. Definitely – they’re very versatile! I plan on continuing to keep them handy long after the babies are grown up!

  4. One of the best baby gifts we received was a big stack of homemade ‘spit rags.’ They were small hemmed squares of soft flannel that we used to wipe spills and faces, wash tiny hands, and sometimes bottoms. They were washable, but we didn’t feel bad if we lost or had to abandon one. Twenty years later, my babies are grown and we still use them to clean spills, wash windows, etc. Great post.

    1. Thanks, Naomi! I know exactly what you’re talking about, since I was also given a big bag of flannel cloths that we use all the time. They’re so convenient, absorbent, and handy!

Leave a Reply

