Recipe: Crunchy Granola

This is, hands down, the best granola recipe in the world!  I’ve tried quite a few recipes in an attempt to find the perfect one, but most of those ended up languishing in the cupboard till I guiltily threw them out.  This is the only one that satisfied my requirements for crunchiness, chunkiness, sweetness, and overall deliciousness!  My son and I eat it every morning for breakfast with yogurt and fruit.  Sometimes I sprinkle it on vanilla ice cream.  Whenever I make it, usually every couple of weeks, I eat it straight out of the pan; it’s that good.

Granola, fresh from the oven

Crunchy Granola (from the “More with Less” cookbook by Doris Janzen Longacre)

Preheat oven to 325F.

Mix together in large bowl: 1 cup coconut, 4 cups large-flake rolled oats, 1 cup sunflower seed, 1 cup wheat germ, 1/4-1/2 cup sesame seed, 1 cup peanuts or chopped walnuts (sometimes I use almonds)

Bring to a boil: 1 cup honey (sometimes I use part real maple syrup), 1/2 cup vegetable oil, 1 tbsp cinnamon

Pour honey mixture over dry ingredients and mix thoroughly.  Spread on two greased cookie sheets.  Bake for 10 minutes.  Take pans out, stir.  Bake another 5 minutes.  Stir.  Bake another 5 minutes.  Stir.  Another 5 minutes.  It should be done after a total of 25 minutes.  Add another 5 minutes if necessary, but watch it closely, not allowing it to get too dark.  Don’t stir the final time you remove it; just let cool.  Store in airtight containers.

Ready for breakfast!
6 thoughts on “Recipe: Crunchy Granola

  1. Mmmm…. this sounds delicious!!! I can’t wait to try it. I love granola on yogurt, but the best is warm right from the oven… more than once my impatience has left me with burned fingers…. LOL!!!

    I am not really a walnut person, unless they are candied… I make may granola with almonds.

    Thank you for the recipe… I think I need reblog this post, sweetie! 🙂

  2. Thank you so very much for posting this. I used to bake loads of this to give as Christmas gifts every year but haven’t done so in a long time. I had purchased ingredients from memory on a whim while grocery shopping yesterday only to discover that my MWL Cookbook was not in my pantry with the others. Talk about panic! Grateful today for the WWW, Google and people who share things I love!! I am convinced that you are correct by the way that this IS the best granola recipe ever. It took me all of five minutes scouring the internet to find this post; in the meantime, I found some real duds. Looking forward to having this delicious treat in my home again! (Incidentally, I have some folks who can’t eat peanuts or walnuts so I usually add sliced almonds or pecan pieces–both at Christmas.)

Leave a Reply

