Writing to Write

“Writing to Write” was the name of a creative writing unit taught to my grade three class.  At the time I thought it was a pretty stupid name and I spent far too much time trying to make sense of it (oh, nerd that I am!).  Though many years have passed since then, I still think back to that unit and its title which, strangely enough, is beginning to make more sense as I get older.  The urge to grab a pen and crack open a notebook, or flip up my laptop and start plunking away, is irresistible when it strikes.  I am one of those people who simply needs to write, and so I write in order to write.

So, here I am — new to the blogging world and embarking on a rather foreign endeavor.  Having written in journals and diaries all my life, I’ve come to realize that the bestselling, award-winning book isn’t going to write itself, and I need to start getting used to writing for the world, writing for readers, presenting my thoughts in a public forum.  I hope you enjoy this glimpse of what it’s like to live my life and be me.  My days are punctuated by diaper changes and nursing schedules, though my brain might be floating in the clouds of English literature that I adore.  While attempting rational communication with a toddler, I obsess about making delicious food and reading new recipes.  I devour books when I’m awake enough in the evenings, and enjoy lively discussions with my brilliantly comedic husband.  Enjoy!

“You write to change the world, knowing perfectly well that you probably can’t, but also knowing that literature is indispensable to the world… The world changes according to the way people see it, and if you alter, even by a millimeter, the way..people look at reality, then you can change it.” James Baldwin

One thought on “Writing to Write

Leave a Reply

